A Call for Perseverance

Rev 14:12,13: Here is a call for the endurance of the saints, those who keep the commandments of God and their faith in Jesus. And I heard a voice from heaven saying, “Write this: Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord from now on.” “Blessed indeed,” says the Spirit, “that they may rest from their labors, for their deeds follow them!”

I wrote this song to capture the cry of the his beloved Bride in the final days for Jesus to come quickly.

Regardless of where this passage falls chronologically, I find the content very timely and applicable in our current day struggle to some degree, and while that degree may not be death now, it’s still be worth the cry.

While there are many valid reasons we want Jesus to come back (we want to see him face-to-face and celebrate with our Bridegroom, we want His rule and restoration finally over all governmental structures, we want His justice to finally reign over every sphere of life, etc.), this song was written specifically from our cry for needing him to come as an act of mercy from our enemies. That may include the fact that some are being killed for the name of Jesus right now, and of course, it includes spiritual principalities and authorities sent to make war on us, and maybe even common adverse circumstances. It’s the cry of desperation: “We NEED you to come for our sake.”

Again I want to point out, this isn’t the only reason we want him to come, but it is important nonetheless.

I wrote the verse one day while I was sick during my internship at IHOP and unable to leave the house. It was amazing to me how weak I felt, not just physically, but more mentally, dealing with the feeling of despair I was so sure I was done with until then (up till then, I had kept myself busy with internship activities and just constantly being in the prayer room and all these things that were so good, but I had not been alone like this in a while and it reminded me of how weak and frail I am -really dealing with the realization that I’m no “super human” with “super emotions”..) and I found myself reading the passage in 2 Corinthians where Paul talks about his “thorn.”

2 Cor 12:7-9: “…a thorn was given me in the flesh, a messenger of Satan to harass me, to keep me from being too elated. Three times I pleaded with the Lord about this, that it should leave me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.”

And what a humbling truth for me to realize then -My only strength is from the Lord anyway! Why should I boast in the flesh? Even my own well-being, my emotions, my thoughts, my satisfaction in day-to-day life are so dim and insufficient if they don’t spring from Him. My whole life is pointless and worthless if it all doesn’t spring from Him. Thanks be to God that He provides everything as a faithful Father, ready to give everything to his darling children.

The song is also reminiscent of that longing ache for him to come and the realization of the waiting therein. “Just you wait!” are most definitely the words I can hear rolling of the Father’s lips as a comfort to His Bride. How concerned is He in providing us the Hope we need? How much does He love to remind us of His Faithfulness -and surely, this is our benefit. He has chosen to reveal His character to us and we have an everlasting Hope because of it!

Praise the Lord for his faithfulness to provide and tenderness toward his Bride. What a beautiful inheritance we have!

Leave a comment

Filed under Songs from "Our Hope"

Leave a Reply

