mmmMMMmm…

Wow, I had such a good birthday! πŸ™‚

Figured it would be a nice thing to write about, maybe just for my own good. Often times in scripture you’ll see a man worship the Lord by setting up an altar and giving sacrifice to the Lord after some big event or landmark in ones life on either a personal or cosmic level. This weekend was nothing less of that for me.

For my birthday, my darling fiancee decided to save money and pay for a trip for me to come up to IHOP-KC for a weekend.

I really do think I have the most wonderful friend for the rest of my life. It’s a good thing when the woman you’re planning to marry backs you up on your desires and even goes out of her way to bless you in the way that speaks loudest to you. It’s the most uplifting kind of love I could ever imagine from a girl. I hope everyone else can experience the same and that men of the Lord choose to hold out for a similar girl and experience the immense blessing of a true woman of the Lord, a passionate lover of Jesus and carrier of his burden.

Thanks Darling Girl! πŸ™‚

Alright, so it’s hard to encapsulate the whole weekend so I’ll try to be as quick as possible (and if you know me, you know that this kind of preface usually means the opposite of it’s intended purpose :p)

I flew in Thursday night and stayed with my buddy Jesse Underwood, who is a outstanding worshipper of Jesus through music. He was my ride to and from everything this weekend -really a nice treat!

On Friday I started of my morning with a few hours in the prayer room, then lunch with Jesse, a little down time -sorta worked on Jesse’s guitar, then off to IHOP’s big Friday night service where Mike Bickle talked about 3 outstanding names for Jesus found in scripture and critically important as mentioned by Jesus himself. It’s no new subject here at IHOP, but a nice refresher for me. At the end of the age Jesus will reveal himself fully as Bridegroom to the church, Judge of the nations and ALL individuals, and King of the earth. Later that night I ran around with my old roomates for some good ole nostalgic fun.

On Saturday I spent some time in the Prayer Room, sung on a team in the GPR (the big prayer room here) (that was really cool, because normally you have to be on staff here at IHOP to do that… it was quite the last-minute birthday surprise!), after that I hung out with more friends from my internship that just happened to be getting together. At the end of our hanging out someone suggested we prophecy* over each other at the party. I, in my shameless confession, asked for extra prophecy since it was my birthday (who can deny that, right?) And so I received many good words about what the Lord has already been doing in my life, confirming things He had spoken to me over the past year. It was completely amazing! πŸ™‚ -glad I wrote everything down. After that, I received prayer from them. I was so encouraged by their faith. And, to top it off, at the end of the night I got to lead an hour in the GPR with Jesse while everyone was over at the big Saturday night service at FCF. We made beautiful sounds to the Lord in an almost empty room -it was great! πŸ™‚ I’m really trying to get that guy to move down to Texas…

And then, there’s today. I went to IHOP’s Sunday morning service and hung out with my old house leader, Michael Sorge. The man loves Jesus so much that he gave me his old USB interface for recording audio (something I’ve been wanting for a long time now!) So now, I can record music in the luxury of my house, or on a mountain somewhere in the rockies or something if I wanted to… well, if I wanted to… It’s also a nice piece of equipment because it allows me (or Teresa) to have a much more clean and strong audio path when playing keyboard somewhere and using Reason. Now I’m just relaxing in the Prayer Room writing this blog.

Amen and Amen! πŸ™‚

*(I love how laid-back people are here regarding that. The issue of “Prophecy” has been so untouched in some places (despite my belief that many lovers of Jesus do it without even knowing, they just don’t have the terminology… and as far as I’m concerned, it’s much more important that they do it regardless of the terminology -I have a feeling terminology is just a tool for knowledge useful for understanding and teaching to others). On the flipped-side, I think a lot of people don’t believe it to be important today or something… my thought is, “Why not hear the voice of the Lord more?! Why not seek His voice for the sake of your brothers and sisters in the faith who would benefit from hearing it? All believers have access to prophecy and should seek the gift of the God’s word so that they may encourage each other in a life’s trials!” The Word of God is not just the Bible (Of course, we are commanded to test and approve what’s good by the Word of God! “For we know in part and we prophecy in part” (1 cor 13:9), so test what you hear! But at the same time, understand that prophecy (the word of the Lord) is good and designed to edify the saints. (1 Cor 14:6) And Paul says to eagerly desire the spiritual gifts especially prophecy, for the reason mentioned above.)

1 Comment

Filed under Blog

One response to “mmmMMMmm…

  1. Joey

    Good stuff! Glad you had a great birthday! What an awesome way to celebrate all God has done!

Leave a Reply

