Our Hope is Still Secure

This is the climax. This is the central theme. It is the whole thought behind the album.

Our Hope [is still secure] might be an appropriate title for the album as well, but I like to think of a album title as being a blend of mystery and something simple. I believe a title should engage a person at first sight… “What is Our Hope?” and the answer should be found within. A book really is judged by the cover, huh?

Maybe, I’m a little over my head, and I’m not really certain that the title “Our Hope” begs much of a question… as I could see how it could be taken as a simple bold statement, but my intention was captivate from first glance…. again, not sure if I did a great job at that, but it’s probably not too important anyway…

Now! I will tell you what is important.

This was probably the first song I wrote while I was at IHOP last year, at least it was the first song I started. I actually started the chorus out of worship, partly just to encourage myself. (I’m a big fan on making songs for yourself and for everyone else… I might be just as concerned with ministering to myself as I am ministering to others when it comes to this stuff… well, I suppose it fluctuates from one to the other from time to time… my thought is that if I can still be encouraged by something I wrote a while back ago, that’s pretty great! Praise God who gives the Spirit without measure and that He is a Spirit of encouragement and true comfort available to all to call…)

It wasn’t much time after singing that my roommates burst through the door with all rambunction and disrupted my beautiful time with Jesus… eh, whatdaya gonna do?

I was certain that I would forget the things I’d sang.. I was already thinking it would be nice to remember this chorus for some project (I think in “projects” – I’m much more inclined to “the big picture” than say a single song… this is why my possible favorite album of all time is A Collision by David Crowder -that’s seriously a piece of work!)

About a month later, I remembered the chorus for what I think to be verbatim and I was very pleased. After that a few verses started coming together from things I’d been singing over myself within the month. During the mixing process my good and super musically intuitive writer friend Paden Smith gave a little criticism for the flow of the song, and I think that really made the song shine!

Now let me tell you what’s actually important… :p

The Nature of the song is different than what some might consider a “worship song” due to it’s central theme of God’s goodness to us. I hear a lot about people saying all “worship” or “Christian” songs should be about God and his glory (which I agree with) and that they shouldn’t be about man at all (which I disagree with!). The fact that God has chosen to reveal Himself to us and shower us with Grace and Perfect Kindness and Love is enough for me to believe it’s something worth singing about. For goodness sake, if we take out singing about ourselves, we’re actually robbing God of the glory He’s due -He has after all tasted death for us, He has brought us into His glorious richness and crowned us with life-everlasting! And even now we, as believers, have the Spirit of God living inside of us -surely, the Praise of God lies within the hearts of men, it’s not some “higher-than” thing that we can’t live up to, nor is it some weighty mystery that only scholars understand, rather it’s the Spirit of God living inside of me to the praise of His glory.

My favorite line is “We’ll be with the Lord always!”

I believe it’s in 1 or 2 Thessalonians, where Paul writes to encourage those of the Faith who know fellow believers who have passed away that our grief shouldn’t crush us, and in speaking of the day when the dead will rise to judgement, those who have been with the Lord will continue to do the same for eternity, “speak t0 them words of encouragement; we will be with the Lord always…” I found that line exceedingly encouraging for myself and it’s my dream that all who hear and all who read would be encouraged in the same way. This is the kind of thing that follows a person for the rest of their life. It’s absolutely what dictates the way they live and the whole of their thought life… that is, if we keep mindful of it. This is good news and I don’t want to pass it up.

In the end of the song, you hear the word’s “Praise the God who is and was…” and I think it’s important to note that this is (to my knowledge, in many reputable versions) the exact text.. I think a few add the last part of the earlier mentioned whole phrase “Praise the God who is and was and is to come” -I found this very interesting and I wanted to accentuate the lack of “is to come” -perhaps this is a statement referring to God’s Kingdom in its fullness at that time in history (later, when Jesus comes back) as the context seems to pretty clearly convey:

…[the Heavenly Hosts] saying, “We give thanks to you, Lord God Almighty, who is and who was, for you have taken your great power and begun to reign.” Rev 11:17

I could be wrong, but it seems that the lack of “is to come” in this passage is intentional…

And if I can say one more thing as the most important thing I’ve said:

This is all a reminder of the joy of being with the Lord forever. What a great Love to rescue us from the cruel grips of the Enemy in our world. And what a great thing to know the gift of God for every person who calls upon Him -for those who have chosen to follow the man Jesus, their reward is wonderful, their joy is eternal, their Hope is set upon the Rock of Ages -it will never move, they have a beautiful inheritance!

for some pretty nifty samples of the album check out my music at the link below:

SoundCloud

Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Songs from "Our Hope"

Leave a Reply

